Lead

May 30 15 1:31 PM

Tags : :

Why do we not have a union?

Hello 

I am fairly new to camming and to this site, but I know enough that it is a constant struggle amongst us to find an adequate site that will maximize our earnings. The kinds of cut that the site takes (especially when considering the amount of taxes that we are paying as individual contractors) is outrageous and getting worse. 

Why don't we have a union or form a union? There are obviously a multitude of very talented and smart women here that the sites consider an asset, and I think that coming together is the only way to fight the huge sway of these companies (rather than just trying to individually maneuver around them. 

Let me know if you have any insight

Re: Why do we not have a union?

Many reasons, but here's one: because - at least in theory - we are freelancers, and so - at least in theory - cam sites are our business partners, rather than employers. (Now, personally, I have many misgivings about this, but that's a different can of worms.)

Freelancer unions do exist - anyone remember the Hollywood writers' strike? - but the studios couldn't swap the striking writers with more eager ones from poor countries. And that is another reason we don't have a union.

Unions generally come about as a reaction to managerial abuses. I'm trying to wrap my head around the mechanics of exactly how this would work.

How do you tell models "you can't work on this site because their payouts are lower"?
Do you enforce models setting a minimum price per minute?
What effect would seniority have on the process?
How much of a critical mass of models would you need in order to get a site to change its policies?
How do you keep the union leadership from getting bought off, especially with everything being online?